Hanbury by Maria Candida Gentile 2010

.

Post by Michael

.

Thanks to the very kind Ms P I’m wrapping my nose around a new to me Maria Candida Gentile. I very much like what I smelled of Exultat, so I’m excited to be testing out another from the line.

Hanbury by Maria Candida Gentile 2010

Hanbury Maria Candida Gentile FragranticaPhoto Stolen Fragrantica

Fragrantica gives these featured accords:
Top: Lime, bitter orange, orange
Heart: Mimosa, white honey, calycanthus
Base: Musk, benzoin

There are a few nuances but this fragrance can be summed up in two words – bitter orange! Those familiar with Italian bitter orange drinks will have a good idea of what to expect from this little fragrance.

Up top lime and bitter orange jumps off the skin with a seriously tart throw. This is a fragrance you can feel penetrating your sinuses. Once it starts to settle down the benzoin takes control with a little mimosa for balance. I wouldn’t call this a mimosa fragrance by any stretch.

Hanbury Maria Candida Gentile Bitter Oranges PixabayPhoto Stolen Pixabay

From here it becomes a little warmer but it’s never cuddly. Miscellaneous white floral notes become more apparent and they’re quite soft. After only an hour or two it fades to a clean citrus musky skin scent.

From the Maria Candida Gentile site: The inspiration comes from the gardens of the Hanbury Villa in Ventimiglia, a city of northern Italy by the mediterranean sea. The essences of this garden have been assembled during a life time by its owner, a very charming and beautiful lady, Dorothy Hanbury. In spring these essences combines all together in the air and are blended by the soft and warm wind from the sea producing an exquisite harmony which has been recreated in the Hanbury fragrance.

Hanbury Maria Candida Gentile Hanbury Botanic Gardens WikicommonsPhoto Stolen WikiCommons

In the end I’m thinking about Hanbury as a citrus EdC – perfect for summer and when applied liberally and often. Maybe even store it in the fridge for an invigorating summer spray. It’s especially nice if you enjoy very naturalistic bitter orange.
Unfortunately for me, I’m left looking for something a little more…..

Further reading: Perfume Shrine and
Maria Candida Gentile has €25/15ml Travel Size or €115/100ml and sends to the world for €30
Parfum1 has $185/100ml
First In Fragrance has €150/100ml

Which of the Maria Candida Gentile line have you smelled? Does Hanbury sound like your cup of tea?
Michael

10 comments on “Hanbury by Maria Candida Gentile 2010

  1. Katrina says:

    Hi Michael, I love citrus, especially orange but i’m not feeling the urge to try this one. It sounds a little full on.

  2. patriciaC says:

    I mostly only like citrus with mint, when i’m in the mood which isn’t often. I will check out the website to see what other offerings are available at a good price.Maybe CINABRE would suit me better?

  3. Brooke says:

    This must be a fragrance that shifts with skin chemistry. This is a super-indolic mimosa on me, likely due to the pairedhoney note. It opens with sharp citrus but that burns off quickly. The mimosa is incredibly prominent on me. How odd that our experiences vary so much.

    • Michael says:

      Oh I wish it was a a super-indolic mimosa on me! You are so lucky.
      I have Le Mimosa and Une Fleur de Cassie so somewhat fill that need for me. How do you find these two?

  4. leathermountain says:

    Oh, I love my Hanbury. I first called it tea-inflected orange blossom. Then I learned about honey and mimosa, so now I smell those, too.

    It is full on, Katrina, but so beautifully balanced. The “tea” (that’s what I smell — actual intense black tea leaves, not the so-called tea note of so many secretly aquatic fragrances) sticks around to temper the honey and flowers, leaving an impression of that early bright citrus.

    I can’t wear it every day; it would be overwhelming. But when it’s hot and humid even at night, or I’m feeling lucky and joyful, or I have some unexpected time to myself — it’s a scent to revel in. I can imagine wanting less, but Michael, I’m amazed you’re wanting more. More of what, may I ask?

    • Katrina says:

      Ok now I’m really curious. I must try this. My first spritz will be sparing though. Thanks!

      • leathermountain says:

        That sounds wise, Katrina. You are so welcome! I don’t know where you are or what shipping would cost (I’m in US), but maybe we could arrange a sampling. Are you on Fragrantica or Perfume of Life (or Basenotes, which I just joined and don’t really use, but I think it does have private messaging)? You could pm me on any of them. Same username.

    • Michael says:

      I’m glad you love it. Hanbury is a lovely fragrance but not quite to my tastes.
      In terms of “more” I suppose I want more of many things. It more or less plays in the higher register. I’d like more bass. More basenotes, more nuances or at least some sense of tension.

      There’s also something used to extend the longevity of the citruses and neroli that slightly irritates my nose. I’m not sure what it is (hence why I didn’t mention it in the review) but it’s presence is a little annoying to my nose (literally!).

      Skin chemistry and personal impressions obviously play a big part though. I don’t get the black tea you mention nor much mimosa and honey. No doubt I’d be head over heals for Hanbury if I did.
      It’s also surprising how much the various reviews on the net display diverse impressions. It obviously varies quite widely from person to person.

      There is one constant though – citrus lovers should absolutely try it.

Leave a comment