Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete by Thierry Wasser for Guerlain 2012

Hey there Crew,

Sometimes when I am in touch with Birgit from Olfactoria’s Travels she might mention a bottle or two that I love and she is ready to let loose, just such a one as this. I can tell she loved it for a while because there is a fair amount missing, sometimes tastes change or something along a similar vein eclipses your current bottle, a million reasons. Maybe you need to sell off a few to buy a newby, always an excellent way of keeping stuff loved and in rotation.

Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete by Guerlain 2012

Songe d'un Bois d'Ete Guerlain FragranticaPhoto Stolen Fragrantica

Fragrantica gives these featured accords in one line:
Cedar, jasmine, saffron, cardamom, laurel, oud, myrrh, patchouli, leather

BaseNotes gives theese featured accords:
Top: Laurel, Neroli
Heart: Jasmine, Patchouli, Saffron, Cedar
Base: Leather, Myrrh

Perfume Shrine tells me that Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete means Dreaming of a Summery Wood, cool summer evening maybe? Summer doesn’t really fit for me to be honest perhaps Autumn? Maybe that’s the dreaming bit? Dreaming in Autumn and Winter of the memories of a Summer wood but surrounded by the scents of winter. OK I’m on board with that. I love the beaded curtain on the bottle with tiny little Guerlain logos and bees, also the Arabic/French writing and the squarish, spare design that you can fit loads of on a shelf. Did I mention the box this comes in? It’s so ridiculously luxe all by itself.

Songe d'un Bois d'Ete Guerlain Turkish Delight WikiCommonsPhoto Stolen WikiCommons

Opening up I get honeyed sweets, like baklava or sugary real Turkish Delight (some days it’s more a candied citrus) with woods and fairly early on I also get a patchouli/oudh vibe that runs baseline. Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete is woodsy and sensual, spicy, and a little waxy. It washes over me in warm, elegant waves like toffee, making everything seem fluid and the air thick. Imagine looking into a brightly lit room through 1970s amber glass, a teinte, a glow, a wash of luminous whiskey coloured grandeur. Thierry Wasser has made something regal that throws such a luscious nod to the middle east but is ensconced firmly in the heart of Paris, the oudh/patchouli clean and dinner suited. How has he made these notes into a gourmand, I seriously want to eat myself up. There are some hints of smoke and the sweaty green of cardamom/cumin adding depth and variation through Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete life.

 Turkish deLIGHTPhoto Stolen LASZLO ILYES Flickr

Through my wear I am most conscious of how amazingly international I smell. It’s as if all the sweet, delicious and pretty pieces of the middle east have been distilled into a fragrance. No dust or desert, not super sweet rose or oily, cloying, heavy and dark fragrance, no camels, tents, sand or oasis. Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete is sheer but still super fragrant, it’s like Mr Wasser has added air and space to the denseness of what we expect from the middle east. So wearable and still unusual. Guerlain from top to bottom: but 21st century Guerlain.

The deep dry down is clean sweaty skin, softest, most loved, old suede and resinous myrrh but that is far, far, far into the future. Next morning there are still viable traces of Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete. What a fragrance. Wear it everywhere if you dare.

Songe d'un Bois d'Ete Guerlain Dancers BBC.UKPhoto Stolen BBC.UK

Further reading: The Non Blonde and Olfactoria’s Travels looks at the three Les Déserts d’Orient collection
PlaceVendome in Belguim has €190/75ml and also sends to the world (Birgit bought my bottle there)
Universal Perfumes has Les Déserts d’Orient collection $276/75ml and send to the world
Surrender To Chance has Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete from $4.60/.5ml or has Les Déserts d’Orient 3 x .5ml from $13

Have you tried any of the three Les Déserts d’Orient? What was your favourite? Would you like to?
Till tomorrow we at APJ wish you health, wealth and happiness, and the ability to see them all when they come.
Portia xx

28 comments on “Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete by Thierry Wasser for Guerlain 2012

  1. Olfactoria says:

    “I love how international I smell.” I love that sentence!!! xx

  2. Amria says:

    That bottle is really beautiful! I like some bottles more than others, I wish they would be reusable and I could just stick whatever perfume I’m into that moment into the beautiful bottle I want 😀

  3. Janice says:

    I have samples of all three of these and I liked both this and Encens Mythique d’Orient, but now that I’ve read your description I need to go back and try this one again. I remember thinking it would be a good one for my husband (who rarely wears scent, however). I love those bottles, too.

  4. Ellen Covey says:

    I agree that the bottle is gorgeous! I’ve always been a big sucker for all things art nouveau, art deco, and Gustav Klimt-ish. I’m very conscious of bottles right now as I’m in the process of redesigning mine and wish I had a huge budget to do something truly custom-designed from the bottle itself up through the label. Kudos to Guerlain for making the top removable. Who could throw away a bottle like that?

    • I’m with you partly Ellen. I like to buy all my frags in spray because it’s less easy to tamper and because I have bought a couple of vintage splash that have been refilled with other scents or new versions of their original contents.
      I do LOVE this particular bottle though, so hefty and elegant.
      Portia xx

  5. Eva S says:

    I own FB of Rose Nacree and Ensence Mythique, both beautiful I think (and with impressive sillage and longevity!) but I haven’t spent enough time with this one. My first impression of Songe was a bit too masculine or my taste, but I have a generous sample left and should try it again.

    • Interesting EvaS,
      I find it so sensual and I suppose I put it in the subconscious femme basket. I have a little on now and it is so gourmand on my skin. I love that we all read fragrance so differently. Nice to see you.
      Portia xx

  6. laniersmith says:

    I got to try Songe d’un Bois d’Ete two weeks ago “behind the counter” at the Guerlain counter here, It was sent along with the other two in the line by mistake from Paris when a client ordered only the Encens Mythique D’Orient. The let me smell it and applied it to my arm with a long glass stopper. I was transported to another world of magic and beauty. It is fantastic!

  7. Wow you are really selling me on this one. I too adore all the packaging, so if it smells divine as well I am in!

  8. susan says:

    This is the only one from this collection I haven’t tried. I absolutely adore Encens Mythique d’Orient, my favorite new perfume of 2012. The Rose Nacree I didn’t love for whatever reason. I do want to try this one eventually.

    • Heya Susan,
      Such a shame you didn’t like the Rose Nacre, I adore it and am waiting for someone to get sick of their bottle and sell it. Encens Mythique is KILLER, isn’t it?
      I think the line wonderful, so evocative. A journey in every spritz
      Portia x

  9. Undina says:

    Songe D’Un Bois D’Ete is the only one that didn’t work for me out of the trio. My favorite (and a FB) is Encens Mythique d’Orient.
    Congratulation on your new bottle – it is a beauty.

  10. Azar says:

    Gorgeous pattern on the bottle! The design reminds me a little of those old bottles of Corday Toujours Moi, Klimt-esque for sure. So tempting when the container and the contents are both beautiful. Great review!

    • Thanks Azar, we were lucky enough to catch the Klimt exhibition on our travels earlier in the year. Jin was immediately smitten by his work and so all I had to do was buy him a The Kiss coffee mug and i was the BEST BOYFRIEND EVER! I’m thinking about buying him a big poster and painting in some of the colours before I have it framed for him, so it would look kind of one only ever made-ish.
      Portia xx

  11. Tara says:

    I love Songe and Encens… the Rose didn’t work on me, but I purchased the first two. Love love love them, and the bottles are so gorgeous. Enjoy your Songe!

  12. Annina says:

    The darling Birgit gave me a sample of this – it’s gooooorgeous!! The sample is log gone, but I take it out every once in awhile and huff the nozzle.

Leave a comment